Experiments with Video

Video has always intrigued me. I like the anonymity you can create with it. I like the choices of speed and use of sound. I like the correlation between the emotion of the piece and the way the footage can be manipulated to create different moods.
This video was something I created during some down time a few months back. The video was shot in one long take, then edited to be slightly shorter. Although the set up of the camera is pre-determined, as are my actions in the video, I still feel like there is a sense of documentation and reality in the emotion felt during the video. The idea that people are able to place feelings onto the anonymous figure in the video, despite having no true facial recognition is something that intrigues me greatly and it is something that I would definitely like to look into more in the future.

Leave a Reply

