Symbolism: Television

Television is a way to experience things within a safe environment. We are in control of the television in a way in which we are not in control of our lives. We have the ability to change the channel, mute the talking and turn the television off as and when we please. There are certain uses of objects/settings in films and television that I have always found extremely interesting, and one of those things for me is a television set.

Image

I once saw a play a few years ago in which an elderly gentlemen spent his days in front of a television. From the way the audience viewed the scene, all we were able to see was an elderly man reclining in a chair with a soft, red, scattered glow radiating upon him from the ‘television’. That image has remained with me for the longest time.

Image

Over the past couple of years I have subconsciously managed to collect a vast archive of television pictures from various sources around the web. Here is a glimpse in the collection:

Image

From ‘The Virgin Suicides’ by Sophia Coppola

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Before I was shot, I always thought that I was more half-there than all-there – I always suspected that I was watching TV instead of living life. Right when I was being shot and ever since, I knew that I was watching television. – Andy Warhol

Leave a Reply

