City: Inspiration – Typography

As the city is such a broad topic, sometimes it is more effective to scale it back into it’s most basic components and instead work from personal opinions and thoughts. I have been writing poetry on and off for a while now, and lately I’ve been more interesting in using it as a medium for my art work. I have used typography on large scales in the past and found it to be an effective tool to put across an idea in a bold, minimalist way. I have been looking at a lot of type-based art work, so here is a post of some pieces that I have been most visually attracted to:

Image

Anne-Lise Coste – Fatherfucker

Image

Bijl Marc – I’m too sad to kill you

Image

Bruce Nauman – Make me think me

Image

 

Bruce Nauman

Image

Kendell Geers

Image

Gardar Eide Einarsson

Image

Jan Mancuska

Image

Ken Lum

Image

Lin Lago

Image

Marc Flood

Image

 

Marc Flood

Image

Mark Wallinger

Image

Neil Robert

Image

Patrick Mimran

Image

Steven Shearer

Image

Stefan Bruggeman

Image

 

Steven Shearer

Image

Todd Norsten

Image

Tracey Emin

 

After reflecting over this post, perhaps advertisements could be an area to also look into.

 

 

 

One Comment on “City: Inspiration – Typography”


Leave a Reply

